Skip to main content
Skip to navigation

academic divisions

Capitalize all names of MU’s colleges, schools, departments, divisions and centers when using the full, proper name: Department of History, Sinclair School of Nursing, Center for Distance and Independent Study, Career Center, School of Journalism. Lowercase when using informal names: history department, the department, nursing school, the center.

  • After the full, formal name of your school, college, office or department appears in a first reference, do not overuse formal name throughout run of copy. Use such second references as school, college, office, department.
  • Avoid overusing Mizzou and MU throughout text and especially in such sentences as: Students at MU spend six hours daily in MU’s Memorial Union on the MU campus.
  • Here are the proper names of the university’s 19 schools and colleges:
    • School of Accountancy
    • College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources
    • College of Arts and Science
    • Trulaske College of Business
    • College of Education
    • College of Engineering
    • Graduate School
    • Harry S Truman School of Public Affairs
    • School of Health Professions
    • College of Human Environmental Sciences
    • School of Information Science and Learning Technologies
    • School of Journalism
    • School of Law
    • School of Medicine
    • School of Music
    • School of Natural Resources
    • Sinclair School of Nursing (see Nursing, School of)
    • School of Social Work
    • College of Veterinary Medicine